Notice: Constant WP_MEMORY_LIMIT already defined in /var/www/ on line 108
Biogarmentry - AZ Awards | AZ Awards
Search AZ Awards ...
Awards By Category
Biogarmentry, A+ Student Award, AZ Awards 2019

We are, all of us, suffering for fashion. Our ecosystems are suffering, too. The clothing we wear today will be the trash we take out tomorrow. Every time we do a load of laundry, toxic nanofibres poison our water system. Plus, the textile and garment industry contributes hugely to carbon emissions and, ultimately, to climate change. That’s why Roya Aghighi, a student at Emily Carr University of Art + Design, developed Biogarmentry, the world’s first living, non-woven textile, which is compostable and made of photosynthetic organisms. The material, invented with scientists at the University of British Columbia according to a proprietary formula, is entirely non-toxic. What’s more, it is an active air purifier: Its cellular content converts carbon dioxide into oxygen. Once it’s brought to market, Aghighi’s invention has the potential to revolutionize fashion. Dressing up may be fun, but dressing green is better still. 

Project Biogarmentry School Emily Carr University of Art + Design, Canada Team Roya Aghighi with Frank Ko and Addie Bahi of AMPEL UBC and Sunjoo Joo and Jae-Hyeok Lee of Botany Lab UBC


Explore more Award Winners

Award of MeritA+ Award for Student Work
Libor Šenekel, Technical University of Liberec, Czech Republic
WinnerA+ Award for Student Work
Clifton Forge, Virginia
Professors Keith Zawistowski and Marie Zawistowski with Bethel Abate, Aiysha Alsane, Tyler Atkins, Justin Dennis, Lauren Duda, Huy Duong, Derek Ellison, Megumi Ezure, Katherine Harpst, Ryan Hawkins, Catherine Ives, Anna Knowles-Bagwell, Michael Kretz, Kyle Lee, Jennifer Leeds, Stephanie Mahoney, Leo Naegele, Margaret Nelson, Stephen Perry, Fernanda Rosales, Leah Schaffer, Katherine Schaffernoth, Amanda Schlichting, Ian Shelton, Brent Sikora, Claudia Siles, Emarie Skelton, Samantha Stephenson, Taylor Terrill, Daniel Vantresca, Bryana Warner, Samuel “Aaron” Williams and Samantha Yeh.
Award of MeritA+ Award for Student Work
Arina Agieieva and Dmytro Zhuikov, Dessau Institute of Architecture, Germany